NATIONAL ASSEMBLY QUESTION FOR WRITTEN REPLY QUESTION NUMBER: 809 [NW872E]

DATE OF PUBLICATION: 24 MARCH 2017

809. Mr M M Dlamini (EFF) to ask the Minister of Finance:

- (a) What is the total number of staff that (i) the Office of the Chief Procurement Officer has appointed since its inception and (ii) is allocated to the call centre and
- (b) what is the total number of offices that exist across South Africa?

NW872E

REPLY

- a) The Office of the Chief Procurement Officer (OCPO) has an approved structure of 141 positions. Only 93 posts are funded. As at 31 March 2017, there are 91 permanent staff appointed on the OCPO establishment of which 28 are senior managers. (The said numbers do not reflect terminations, transfers or retirements from the department for the period 1 April 2013 to date.) Currently, the office component is 93, with 91 permanent and 2 contract employees.
 - (i) Since the inception of the OCPO on 1 April 2013, 47 appointments were made and 95 were absorbed from the establishment of the Specialist Function Division which was previously responsible for Supply Chain Management in the National Treasury.
 - (ii) No permanent employees are allocated to the OCPO call centre. The Black Business Council in the Built Environment (BBCBE) is funding thirteen (13) resources for queries on 30 day payments and ten (10) resources for the Central Supplier Database (CSD) funded by the South African Local Government Association (SALGA), for a period ending 31 March 2017. Call centres for CSD are also available at the Provincial Treasuries and the number of personnel are allocated as follows:
 - Eastern Cape Provincial Treasury: 10 people
 - Northern Cape Provincial Treasury: 8 people
 - Western Cape Provincial Treasury: 4 people
 - Free State Provincial Treasury: 5 people
 - Limpopo Provincial Treasury: 18 people
 - Gauteng Provincial Treasury: 15 people
 - Mpumalanga Provincial Treasury: 7 people
 - KwaZulu-Natal Provincial Treasury: 11 people
 - North West Provincial Treasury: 6 people
- b) The OCPO has only one office based in the National Treasury, Pretoria.